Saturday, March 24, 2018

Lisa T. Bergren
(The Sugar Baron's Daughters #1)
Keturah is the first book in The Sugar Baron’s Daughters Series by Lisa T. Bergren. The story takes place on the island of Neves in the Caribbean in the late 1700s.  Keturah and her sisters, Verity and Selah, travel there from England in order to salvage their inheritance of a sugar plantation after the death of  their father.  The author has obviously researched the history of the physical conditions of the island as well as the condition of slavery at that time and provides detailed background descriptions of what life was like in 1772.  This is a well written book with well developed characters.  There is some romance but it is a side story to the themes of wife abuse, male authority, and slavery. The faith of Keturah grows with the hardships and results in a very satisfying story.  

No comments:

Post a Comment